3.3 Breaking the news?

Read this blog about the New York Post’s image of a man about to be killed by a subway train. Read the details of the blog carefully and write up your own analysis of the event.
Comment on the ethical decision of the commuter who took the picture.

This kind of news is not something that I would usually read. There is nothing worthwhile in such a post that would hold my attention for a second. The only purpose of exposing such news is about the attention that the news house publishing it will get.

Regarding the analysis of the event, it reminded me of a car accident a long time age, where I was one of the witness. The angle of the story shifted so much from one side to the other with every new witness and each testimony, and each time I was sure that the last one was 100% correct until the next person shared his view. The shock and uncertainty that I experienced on that occasion taught me that the kinds of moments presented in any story are a mix of the individual and influential thought, which through time acquire elements of ethics and morally in order to justify our own actions to ourselves (some kind of self-preservation).

In this case we have a piece of news about a random unfortunate event in a big city without any statement. That can only inspire fear and anger in readers, but no comfort or resolution. In that sense, I do not see any point of such an article. 

The only interesting thing for me are the reactions posted to the photographer, because that is something that each of us needs to be aware of while working on projects that include others. The respect and decency is needed, but that unfortunately varies within each individual and should be taught early on, starting from ‘Do unto others as you would have them do unto you.’ 

Of course there will always be different types of photographers/people who have their own perspective on what is ethically right. Even if I do not understand or approve some of them, I can still enjoy their work (e.g. Bruce Gilden), as a guilty pleasure. But the work that feeds on the suffering of others from a comfortable position is where I raise my red flag. I would not be able to live with myself making that kind of work, whatever BIG PICTURE lies behind it.

This photographer did not earn the exposure that the photo got on the cover of the New York Post. The readers did not get any value from that read/photo. All in all, it is a poor choice made by New York Post’s editor.

Bibliography:
Zara, Christopher (2012) ‘New York Post Subway Death Photo: Unethical Or Just Tasteless?’ In: International Business Times [online] At: http://www.ibtimes.com/new-york-post-subway-death-photo-unethical-or-just-tasteless-918619 (Accessed on 28.05.18)

Leave a comment